Archive for November 24, 2008

Six Days And Fifteen Hours

Six days and fifteen hours.

In another six days and fifteen hours I will be heading to Kuching again. I can foresee that this coming three-days-two-nights’ trip is going to be a less interesting one compared to the previous’. The reason is simple; I am going alone.

Thinking of it makes me wonder what I am going to do to pass my extra time there. The only time I am going to be occupied is the morning of the second day, some ‘official business’ in SGH. Perhaps window shopping is a good idea. Enjoy a good steak at San Francisco’s Grill is also within the wish list. One thing for sure, I am going to hang around in MPH bookstore. I used to spend half day there during my last visit. Given the variety and quality of books it offers, there is no way all bookshops in Sibu, if combined, can ever beat it.

My return from Kuching will mark the end of my long holiday and it’s time to resume office. It sounds uninteresting, especially the phrase ‘end of holiday’ and ‘resume office’. The thought of complicated office politics and irrational selfish human being make me feel that it’s a worse place to dwell compared to hospital. I am glad though, because such pessimistic contained only in a few. There is still a big bunch of lovely and good people inside. Oh folks, I just love you all!

The last six months had been a real big turn in my life. Trials and adversaries, tumor and operations, and I ended with 20 packets of blood from 20 strangers inside me. Somehow I managed to survive and hoped that I will continue to. There is nothing to sorry or sympathy for at here though. Each of us has our specific challenge and hardship, and mine just happen to be this one. That’s why they called it life is a box of chocolate, I guess. By the way, the humor side was one friend of mine had always told me that operation and blood transfusion will alter people’s personality and I never believe so until sad movies started to make me cry. Oh my… those 20 strangers must have liked to cry so much.

In the blink of an eye, life’s direction drifted, priorities altered and ambitions changed. Directions had drifted from ‘work full time and enjoy when there is spare time’ to ‘life is to enjoy, work is to pass the extra time’. Priority had altered from establishing carrier pathway or climbing-up-the-organization-ladder craps to establishing a quality life and time with beloved ones.

The changes in ambitions were the most interesting among all. I came around with more goals which are lovely and achievable. My ambition right now is to finish reading three books within the next six days; How to Use Power Phrases to Say What You Mean, Mean What You Say, and Get What You Want by Meryl Runion; A Survival Guide for Working with Bad Bosses- Dealing with Bullies, Idiots, Back-stabbers, and Other Managers From Hell by Gini Graham Scott, and; New Moon by Stephenie Meyer. My next ambition will be to fill my small garden with a monotone of sunflower. The next next ambition will be to setup a new blog space – friendster’s blog is just too incompatible with so many things.

Now I wonder how things are going to be after I resume office. I am going to have a new boss, you see. The former one had retired months ago. Hope the books I read helps.

November 24, 2008 at 9:31 pm 2 comments


November 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Trace

My Lovely Garden

  • 39,302 Roses