Christmas Morning And A Christmas Eve

December 25, 2008 at 2:48 pm 10 comments

It is a lazy Christmas morning. I still have plenty to write about yesterday’s event but I’m just feeling lazy. 😛

The morning is quiet. No Little Tom’s nuisance call or rushing into the house once the door was open. No calling outside my room. Well, have to live with it. Things have changed. 😦

Ok, let’s not be lazy. I’ll describe in brief about yesterday’s events. All were enjoyable and happy events except Little Tom’s.

I had a company Christmas lunch in RH Hotel.

lobbyThe lobby was well decorated.

BallroomWe have some performances throughout the lunch, all by our colleagues. The foods were just ordinary. It was a modest celebration. Economy is bad.

driverLunch ended around 2.15pm. We still need to go back to office after lunch. My driver – a pretty lady- drove me to the hotel and back to the office. She’s a fierce driver. You had better drive properly if you’re in font of her, otherwise you might get a longggggggg honk from her!

gift exchangeEveryone have a packet of cookies as door gift. We have gift exchange too. You put your gift at the gift counter before the lunch started, pick up a number and pick the gift attached to that number at the end of the lunch. Not a very fun way of gift exchange. I would prefer a more messy and noisy way of exchange. Haha! Can’t wait to open the gift as soon as I was inside the car. My lucky number for the day was 167. Guess what’s inside?

TupperwareIt’s a Tupperware.

church We drove past my Church on the way back to office.

Ugly DucklingBack in the office my Tupperware turned into a second hand platypus toy. The story was- I told a colleague earlier this morning that I don’t like Tupperware. She dared me to change my gift with her’s if I ever get a Tupperware. I did, and I have to honour our deal, though I do like the particular Tupperware I get. Her gift was that poor used dull platypus doll you saw in the picture. The colour had faded and it seemed like the platypus took a swim in a washing machine before was packed as a Christmas gift. Nonetheless it keeps me company now, just in time, since Little Tom will never come into my room again 😦 I feel empty. The platypus’ eyes are just as shiny and round as Tom’s. Somehow it consoles me.

bicycleAfter 5pm, I went for a brief workout in my company’s mini gym… riding the stationary bicycles.

another bicycleHere’s another bicycle. This helps me to jog without hurt my implant.

sunsetThe sunset was beautiful. Took this pic outside Ame’s house.

I made a visit to Ame’s house after exercise to take the PowerPoint for Christmas Eve’s mass. I was required to play PowerPoint slide throughout the mass. A very tension task! After I met her, I headed home. That’s when I learned about the sad sad sad news.

church9.00pm and I was in Sacred Heart Cathedral. I was so anxious. It was crowded and I was about to control the slides which will be viewed by a few thousand pairs of eyes.

churchSee the big screen far on the right corner? That’s one of it.

churchThe mass started. Anxious anxious and anxious.

LCD & PowerPointI’m technically safe when I reached here. It’s usually the prayers in the beginning of the slides which did not consistent with what the priest said. Sometimes the order of the slides were not in order too. When there was an error, I might have up to hundred pairs of eyes started to stare at me. Definitely adrenaline pumping! The errors inside the slides- is an inevitable thing. Sometimes the priest need to do last minute adjustment and sometimes the priest used his own prayer. My friend who prepared the slides always ended up busy changing the prayers or reading inside the slides a couple of times before it is eventually finalized. At times, even after it was finalized, we still have some changes emerge just a few hours before the mass! Well, it’s not an easy job! Volunteers, out there, any?

Eventually there were a few mirror errors in last night’s Christmas Eve’s mass but there was no much adrenaline pumped. I felt too sad to bother much about what others think of me or the slides. The only other feeling besides sad was numb.

PubWent to pub for countdown after mass. My friend and I was late. Glad we did. A fight broke up right before we arrived and a friend was injured. Her thigh was cut by broken glass. Police was there to pick up those wild cats. At the same time another friend was KO and need to be drove back, thought she insisted she can drive. Someone did drove her back though. So in the end, the party downsized.

pubNonetheless we did resume with our countdown, wit smaller congregation though. A friend started to laugh at me, saying I was just operated and had implant in my backbone and this should be the last place I visit. They took back their words when I started to dance and jump (By the way the news spread fast and now I was booked for another countdown on 31st Dec.). Well, this was the night when all my wild genes came out. The good thing about me is- I can be a very goody goody at a time and I can be so wild in another time. We shook, we jumped and we danced. No much of drinking though coz we’re all driving. Glad I did some workout in gym, it helped with my stamina and ability to shake and dance well!

coconutThe party ended 12.30am. I went for a dinner cum supper at Sri Meranti. That’s the only food outlet still open at such wee hours. The coconut was just not as nice as at the pizza’s; it’s just the standard taste. I skipped my dinner earlier last night to cry. Partially I also want to starve myself so that I can divert some sadness into other feeling – hunger.

Fried riceI took fried rice. I gave half of them to my skinny buddy.

Tom YamAnd Tom Yam too! I told the waiter – no sugar added and want it to be as spicy as possible. She kind of laughed at my request. The cook did a good job- real spicy, not sweet but a bit salty though. My buddy admitted it was spicy too.

rubbish truckFinally, on the way sending him back home we met a rubbish dump truck. It collected balloon from somewhere else and tied them to the rear right side of the vehicle. I felt that it looked special and decided to drive as near to it as possible to take a picture. We chased the truck for about a few kilometers before it finally stopped at a traffic light.

This was the most enjoyable Christmas eve I ever had since my existence. I used to stick to the tv during the last Christmas eves.  It would just a real perfect one if I still have Little Tom. Sigh~

I still have a big task coming up this evening. We have a Christmas Mass and you should know what I’m worrying about right now! The PowerPoints!

Entry filed under: Christmas. Tags: , , , .

Farewell Little Tom Flood

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jani  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    I’d not change the christmas present if I were you~ haha~
    you are so generous eh
    Hey you got addicted to Tom Yam?
    I still haven’t try the real nice tom yam yet~

  • 2. rhealk  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    He was part of my life, was the first one I see every morning before I go to work and was the first one I pat when I’m back to work and was the one, besides my mum, who called outside my room’s door. Just miss him.

  • 3. Jani  |  January 1, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    hey~ I was talking about tomyam. haha~ you miss Tom too much liaw. :p

  • 4. rhealk  |  January 1, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    OMG~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ LoL
    Yes, I am definitely addicted to Tomyam. Even mistaken tomyam for Tom.
    My GOD!

  • 5. le chat  |  January 29, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Balloons on the garbage truck… How come it made me think of a poem of Li QingZhao? (1084-1156)

    So dim, so dark,
    So dense, so dull,
    So damp, so dank,
    So dead!
    The weather, now warm, now cold,
    Makes it harder than ever to forget!
    How can a few cups of thin wine
    Bring warmth against
    The chilly winds of sunset?
    I recognize the geese flying overhead:
    My old friends,
    Bring not the old memories back!
    Let fallen flowers lie where they fall.
    To what purpose
    And for whom should one decorate?
    By the window shut,
    Guarding it alone,
    To see the sky has turned so black!
    And the drizzle on the kola nut
    Keeps on droning: Pit-a-pat, pit-a-pat!
    Is this the kind of mood and moment
    To be expressed By one word “sad”?

    ~Translated by Lin Yutang.

  • 6. le chat  |  January 29, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    The feel of forlorn…

  • 7. rhealk  |  January 31, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Oh, nice poem, even after translation. Thank you. Like it 😛

  • 8. rhealk  |  January 31, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    sob sob sob…

  • 9. le chat  |  October 5, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    The last photo appeared in my mind once in a while. Sometimes I was confused, was I in the scene?

  • 10. Raphael  |  October 6, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Yes, you were! Haha~

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Trace

My Lovely Garden

  • 36,620 Roses

