Giant Flood Countdown – 29 December 2008

December 27, 2008 at 10:31 am 6 comments

Nearby my houseA drain nearby my house which turned into a river. This is the place where I usually fished. There are plenty of giant cat fish inside. The biggest I ever get was about 1.8kg. That’s just the average size though.

The rumours have it that it was originated from Thailand. It escaped from a fish pond during a big flood a few years back and now it’s everywhere! God is just so GENEROUS. So basically you won’t die of starvation here if your career is a begger. Just go and beg for a few ringgit on the streets, then buy a cheap fishing rod, dig up your bait- worms – anywhere near the riverbank or ‘drainbank’ and there goes your breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper.

You can even be an entrepreneur by selling those fish you catch. Later, after you accumulated some money, buy yourself a nice suit, make up a business plan and go inside an agriculture bank and get your SME (small medium enterprise) loan. Then you’re rich! Oh my, why I neve try that myself? Anyway lets go back to my flood.

On the wayTook this photo while I was on the way to my office this morning. This’ just the begining. It yet to meet with high tide. The high tide collision will boost the water level up to 5.6 meter. It’s time for fun, kids! And a busy time for parents to move their home furniture, if you do live in an amphibious house. God bless you….

Outside officeThis’ the junction right outside my office. Looks like I have found a good excuse for not going to work next week. But alas, my company always have big lorries ready, to fetch us from a few pick up points in the event of flood. At one year the company even prepared express boats! So basically, unless its  the office which is burnt down into rubbles, we still ought to come to work. No excuse!

Anyway, all these were just the begining. The highest super duper king tide is expected to fall on 29 December 2008. It’s claimed to be as high as 6.6 meter!

So kids, if you’re having fun, don’t forget your floats or life vests. Won’t want to see you in the newspapers! Enjoy yourself and just leave all the heavy and headache-ing furniture migration works to daddy and mommy.

Yeah, just enjoy while you could coz you’re gonna to be someone’s daddy or mommy some day later and you’re going to have this very same exercise every year, unless your daddy and mommy starts to vote the right man in the next election!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Australia Giant Flood?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie Injan  |  December 31, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    eu…u caught fish from the drain bank…and then u eat ka?dont u think the fish that u caught eat what inside the drain?

  • 2. rhealk  |  December 31, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    LoL… I thought it eat smaller fish inside the drain… and of course some other waste which fell inside it, whether intentionally or unintentionally, by Sibu people. Hoh, so you’re one of them?!
    I ate only once the fish from there – those giant cat fish… I took a mouthful and gave the rest to my cats. Only then I knew that my cats were picky with which type of fish they ate too!
    By the way, the drain where I caught them was connected to the Rejang River. The water rise and subside according to tide. At super high tide the drain just turned into murky yellow as Rejang River.

  • 3. le chat  |  January 14, 2009 at 12:03 am

    Haha… I really have a big time when read through your blog. Going to office by boat, LOL.

  • 4. rhealk  |  January 14, 2009 at 6:33 am

    Luckily I yet to join the company then. LoL
    I’m having a big time when I’m at yours too… I’ll need to open the google translator and copy sentence by sentence and let it translate… hahaha

  • 5. le chat  |  January 14, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Oh, I thought you know Chinese! Given you’ve pasted the “Shanghai Tan” song here previously.

    I tried to get my blog entry translated in Google Translator, but, it’s a total mess!

    I wonder, how do you get it up with learning Spanish? Any clue to use Google Translator smart?

  • 6. rhealk  |  January 14, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Haha
    I just copy and paste the lyric from somewhere 😛
    I can read a couple of simple Chinese characters though.

    My Spanish lesson is just as messy as yours. It’s even messier when words are combined into a sentence.
    Same thing when I translate your blog into English.
    The sentence just don’t make sense; but I still can roughly understand what your point is.
    Seems like there’s no better software to smart translate it than the software inside our brain. Haha

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Trace

My Lovely Garden

  • 36,816 Roses

