Tom Yam Attack

January 18, 2009 at 10:44 pm 12 comments

As I promised to myself earlier, I went to my best favourite Tom Yam restaurant.

It was a ten minutes’ drive from my house. I parked my car in front of Tanahmas Hotel.

Do you believe me, there were a few empty parking spaces available and I can even choose where to park my car, at such prime hour! My, business is real bad.

When I reached the restaurant, I noticed that they have a new Indonesian guy as their waiter. I have some issues with him!

“Saya mau ini dan ini. Mau panas ah,” I told him, pointing at Prawn Tom Yam and Sotong Tumis in the menu and reminded him I wanted my food to be hot.

“Memang panas, baru saje masak,” he replied, telling me the food is going to be hot because they’ll only be cooked shortly.

I just grinned back, wished that he get what I mean – I want the soup to be hot and boiling – but I didn’t explained further to him because my instinct told me he will give me the same reply.

Finally, after 15 minutes of waiting, my beloved Tom Yam and sotong tumis arrived. I just can’t wait to dip inside the food, but still, I tell myself to be patient, took out my camera and took the food’s photos.

Tom Yam KungThe Tom Yam Kung

Tom Yam KungThe prawns I fished out from the soup…

Sotong tumisThe sotong tumis, with generous little land mines all over… chili padi!

The next 45 minutes, I believed I was in cloud nine. I wished the moment will just last forever. Just as how you wished how your sweet first kiss will last. Soon, my forehead was wet with perspiration, and hot both in tongue and body. The spice from the tom yam was working inside my body. I strongly believe my face was as red as the chili. In the midst of my fantasy, the cook came, with a small bowl of soup. It was soto ayam.

“Ini sup percuma… tidak pedas. Saya lihat kamu panas… takut kamu rasa terlalu pedas,” she said, telling me that the soup was free, and not spicy- to serve as ‘remedy’ for me if I was on fire.

Soto ayamBehold, the remedy for spiced up tongue?

“Oh, tidak, Saya memang suka pedas. Lagi pedas lagi bagus! Ini sup, kalu lagik panas, lagik baik,” I told her that I love hot and spicy food and later pointing at the prawn tom yam, telling her it’ll be best if the soup is boiling hot.

“Saya ingat kamu rasa terlalu pedas… saya lihat kamu sudah macam…” she replied, telling me that I looked as if was on fire to her, and tried to describe to me how I looked. Yes, my face was all red, forehead and neck was wet with perspiration, eyes were watery and with a running nose. Uh, sounds like a loser!

“Sini tidak manyak Cina yang makan pedas. Saya pun sudah kasi kurang sikit pedas, takut kamu tak tahan,” she continued, explained that she  noticed that Chinese here didn’t take much spicy food and she had reduced the level of the spicy in the Tom Yam Kung she cooked for me, just in case it is too hot for me.

“Oh, ya, sini manyak Cina tidak pandai makan pedas. Saya, lagik panas lagik bagus!” I explained, agreed with her that not much Chinese can take hot food here but I am an exception- the hotter the better!

After she was rest assured that I was enjoying the food, she left. There I was, again, continue my beautiful journey.

I’m not sure how long the tom yam business is going to last but I’m sure I’ll be coming back soon, and often! There were only three customers here tonight – a group of two guys- which I believe they were on fire, based on how they ‘cried’, and of course, me.

Pros:

Very clean.

Tom Yam with great taste! All attributed to the spices they used.

Adjustable level of spice, according to your level.

Not crowded (the demand for such food, here in Sibu… rather rare!)

Cons:

Only one cook. You’ll have to wait longer (or very LONG) if there are other customers or you’re with a big group with variety of food orders.

‘Premium’ price. The price here starts with RM4. The Tom Yam I ordered was RM8 and the sotong tumis was RM5. I liveth in a place where people wants big quantity with cheap price. Haha… So?

Poor presentation of food. Taste great but lack of presentation. That was never of my concern but still, certain people do mind about this, perhaps?

Location- opposite central market – a die hard location where parking is a problem at day time, especially weekdays!

Okay, lets look around…

looking aroundClean and nice bowls and plates…

looking aroundNeat and tidy…

looking aroundNow this is special… if le chat awakens literature cells inside me, this restaurants awakens those stories I read about witchcraft and black magic…

This restaurant have strong taste of Thai’s culture… they have a small altar near the counter and they have amulets stuck high on every corner of the walls. Hey, it’s a Thai’s restaurant afterall, so lets give it a break!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Toilet Special Breakfast

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jani  |  January 19, 2009 at 12:24 am

    you make me feel soooooooooooooo very much want to give it a try!
    i can’t take too spicy though, but i’m taking pretty much of spicy food recently
    consider drastic improvements, as i never take any tom yam or asam laksa or spicy food in the past! not until i got myself into uni.
    i guess most ppl trained their spice ‘kung fu’ in uni/college time, huh

  • 2. rhealk  |  January 19, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Yes, especially poor Sarawakian, when they arrived in West Msian Unis’!
    I’m though, an exception.
    I went to Sabah Uni and I learned, actually, to spicy up my life in Form six.

  • 3. ame  |  January 19, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    so bad. didnt bring me 😦
    i thought our house is 2 min away?!!

  • 4. rhealk  |  January 19, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Oh, I have phobia with crying ladies.
    I scare it’ll be too spicy till you cry…

    Hey, I thought you were busy after mass? Put up make up and wear night grown some more 😛

    Ok, next round, I’ll inform you. Maybe one of these days before CNY, if you meant it.

  • 5. ame  |  January 20, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    bring me and jani. we have tomyam gathering then.

  • 6. rhealk  |  January 20, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    When? She coming back for CNY?

  • 7. Jani  |  January 20, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    perhaps mid of the year or end of the year.
    cny is just way too short time for me
    i’m afraid i only can meet you guys once, haha

  • 8. rhealk  |  January 20, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    No worry, we’re meeting here almost everyday.

  • 9. le chat  |  January 25, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Erh!? Those flowers are amulets!? I thought there are just some decorations!

    le chat isn’t the one who awakens your literature cells. It’s the dream! It all started with A Midsummer Night’s Dream, isn’t it? 🙂

  • 10. rhealk  |  January 25, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Haha. The square thing stuck on the wall. That’s it. Looks like passport, red in colour. Passport to other realm of the world, I suppose!

    Haha, A Midsummer Night’s Dream… hey, that’s how we know each other right? Still, big part of the credit have to go to you. I thought people who enjoyed literature had extincted.

  • 11. le chat  |  January 29, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    LoL, if I saw one in real, bet I will still cannot recognize it.

    Nope, a bit earlier than when I left comment in your Dream post.

    My office has plenty of people who actually fall in love with literature. 🙂

  • 12. rhealk  |  January 29, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Haha! Sometimes its better not to recognize them. Gee… spooky.

    Yes, your office should. You people are dealing with ‘literature’ everyday!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Trace

My Lovely Garden

  • 36,534 Roses

