Bukit Lima Forest Park

February 13, 2009 at 11:36 pm 6 comments

Today I choosed to jog in this park.

It was built couple years ago but I never been there. The major reason was… the location of the park was rather tricky and confusing.

You have to pass through kampong roads with a few ‘turn left’ and ‘turn right’ before you can reach the destination (with those kampong kids riding on bike without helmet and ride the bike as if the road belonged to their dad- you know that you have to run and hide in a police station if one of those kids on the bike who yet to obtain their motorbike license accidentally knocked your car and fall down) .

You’re considered a genius if you can reach the destination without lost a few time if you’re a first timer who attempted to reach there by yourself.

I must say I love the park. The only set back was the trail was not properly labelled. You may get lost if you’re not observant enough- you may just run round and round and never get out since all the trails are joined together.

The best thing is… this is the best place to keep fit. Once you’re inside, there’s no shortcut to go out- either turn back, continue to run or to stay overnight inside (and become the food for millions of mosquitors for one night).

Today I ran on the longest trail. I overtook my 2 friends after they ran out of stamina. I continued to jog until I realised that I was alone. At certain part of the trail, it was written 1500. It indicates the distance from a certain point which I never know- because there is no proper sign board inside!

I continue to jog as I passed the numbers … 1700, 1800, 1900, 2000, 2100 and the list went on! I wasn’t sure what was the last number I saw coz I was busy worrying how long the trail is going to be.  I also doubted if I took the wrong direction, since there was no sight of human presence for the last 15 minutes!

Minutes ticked by, sky darken and insects’ calling intensed.When I was about to persuade myself to turn back, I saw the most beautiful thing- 2 ladies, in T-shirt, one in red  shortpant and another in black.  The sight of human gave me hope that I was on the right track. Phew! Yes, I was on the right track back to the starting point.

I think I must had jogged for about 3km today in 45 minutes. I believe that 70% of the energy came from fear. I was freaking myself with the thought that I lost my way and no one could hear my shout for help. Spooky, ain’t it?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

New Menu A Perfect Valentine Day

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jani  |  February 15, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    I think you are talking about the sentosa forest park. the bukit lima park is the one behind swimming pool~

    haha~ i have to thank you for calling me genius, as I didn’t lost the way when I went there for the first time. XD

    it’s been quite some time i’ve not been there, but it is scary when there’s no one at all along the track.

    there’s once I was listening to my mp3 while jogging, concerntrating on my jogging, and suddenly a man appeared from the bushes beside the track!

    Imagine how shocked I was, and he was just in front of me! There’s no other people, and I just rushed off, running for life~! i think I prefer to go Bukit Lima there.

    there are often some natives plucking the ferns there for sale, and they just walk quite deep inside.

  • 2. rhealk  |  February 15, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Wow, you’re definitely a G-E-N-I-U-S !!
    I hope I will not lost my way there tomolo.
    Yes, it could be a scary place, an even scarier if you jogged alone without mp3 to cover all the eerie silent which enveloped you. I believe I can’t jog there alone without my ipod. Need some distraction. Too quiet! Haha, glad you managed to run for life. I’m sure that native must be amused to see that. Hahahaha

    Certain area was quite wet… reminded me of a movie… The Swamp Thing.

    Other that security, ghost and monster issue, I actually love that place.

  • 3. Jani  |  February 15, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    erm, i went there few times without mp3 also.
    I only had my mp3 for like twice? then i dropped under the track and gone.
    T.T~~~~

  • 4. rhealk  |  February 16, 2009 at 6:24 am

    Oh….. sounds like Chipsmore… now you see, now you don’t.

    I found that jogging is more motivating with mp3. Or else its just so dull and boring. All you heard were voices from your own head, your steps, someone else’s talking voice or the sound of insects.

  • 5. Jani  |  February 16, 2009 at 10:36 am

    isn’t it also a good time to think on your own matter?
    hahaha~
    but I agree its better with your mp3 around.
    but i dun think i wanna go there.
    =.=

  • 6. rhealk  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Yes, it’s a good time to argue with one self.
    Me too. Kind of spooky…. but I still want to go. Sigh

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
Trace

My Lovely Garden

  • 36,534 Roses

