Kuching Trip

February 27, 2009 at 10:23 pm 8 comments

This was one great trip.

I met an old friend in Sibu airport and couple of old friends in Kuching International Airport. The journey was an interesting one.

Upon arriving Kuching, after checked in to my regular hotel, I visited MAICSA office to submit my application form. According to the lady I spoke to, all I have to do now is to wait for KL office to contact me. Wish me luck and I hope I’ll be exempted as much papers as I can. 😛

Later I visited Saberkas. Nothing attracted me there expect the 16GB pendrive was sold RM95. I bought a few books there. Next I went to The Spring. It was a painful visit, to my wallet. I bought more books and couple of new cloths.

At night, I dined with a friend whom I met at the Sibu Airport earlier. She was on a return trip to Kuching. After dinner and see her to airport, I visited Coffee Bean. It was an out of ordinary visit because can’t even remember when I last drank coffee! I guessed what drove me there was boredom. Besides I need a good place to read my newly bought book.

The next day was a thrilling one. After my business in SGH, I went out with an old friend whom I knew since my UMS days. I was surprised to see her – guess: (1) she became fat (2) she become more beautiful (3) she become skinnier (4) she is a mother of 4.

Which one did you guessed? Well, she maintained how she used to look – small size and fair. She actually looked like a Korean, more and more! So now you can imagine how pretty and how fair she is!

It was a GREAT afternoon. We had lunch, we walked almost the whole city, hawker center to India street, to Waterfront and back to Coffee Bean at Sarawak Plaza. I had bad experience at Coffee Bean though. I gave the cashier RM50 and he gave me RM1 back for the following items: 1 coffee latte, 1 tea, 2 banana muffins. It was my fault too; I didn’t ask for receipt. I only discovered about this after I was back in the hotel.

At night I went to Holy Trinity Church in Kenyalang Park to join their prayer group. After take my bath, I walked to a nearby taxi station. I was worried that some of the drivers might not know the location of the church so I asked the driver I met if he knew the place. He just told me to get into his car.

Assuming he knew, I entered his car without much query. On the road, he started to ask me if the church was located at Teng Kung Seik Road. I told him I didn’t know. I only went there once. So up and down, in and out we went, and after went to 2 wrong churches, finally I found my church. I have to pay extra RM4 for his mistake. Since my mood was good, I decided not to exercise my consumer right with him.

I am looking forward to my next trip in June. Hope it will be as great as this one!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Lunch @ Ruby Restaurant Just Another Saturday Night

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. le chat  |  February 27, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    I like the Coffee Bean at KK.

    Korean = pretty
    What an interesting inference :p

  • 2. rhealk  |  February 28, 2009 at 7:01 am

    Hahaha…. that was one interesting inference.
    How’re you recently? Saw you wrote a lot in your blog and it looked interesting. I yet to translate them.
    You read books by Mitch Albom?

  • 3. le chat  |  March 1, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Dear Cain,

    I experienced neither storms nor fair skies lately. You seem have a fantastic life there 🙂

    Hehe… Thank you for making effort for trying to read my blog, cause even some of my Chinese-educated friends claimed that my blog is not readable, LoL.

    I read only one work of Mitch Albom – The Five People You Meet in Heaven. You like his works?

  • 4. rhealk  |  March 1, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Hi Le Chat dear,

    I just showed the fantastic side of my life here, I guess. I left all the shouting and sneering in Facebook.

    Haha, I guess maybe your friends just having the different channel with you. I guess we have same frequency here, given the countless similarity we have. Cheers! Yay, gimme FIVE. You know where to find my hand.

    I like his style of writing and the meaning of his story. Five People You Meet in Heaven was his first book I ever read. Now I’m reading his famous book – Tuesdays with Morrie. Another book I bought was For One More Day. His story was sad and touching. I never like such book because I hate to be sad but somehow I keep on reading. LoL~

    How bout you? Like his work? I think I bought those 3 because I think it can help to improve my English. I’m writing newsletter for my company lately. Gotta to improve my language command.

  • 5. le chat  |  March 2, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I love sentimental writings.

    Five People You Meet in Heaven is worth reading, but… it’s lack of some “sentiments storming”, somethings that touched my heart or even squeezed my heart, perhaps is there a lack of chemical effects between the author and I?

    I do not read English Literature that often, so there are just a very few English writers in my favourite list, and most of them aren’t present-day writers. And only the one who manage to “squeezed” my heart will come in the list. Kind of fussy character though.

    wow! You are incharge of your company newsletter! But I think the wording between newsletter and literature should be quite different? Or your boss prefer “flowery” newsletter?

  • 6. rhealk  |  March 2, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Ooooo… sentimental writings…. me too, and I love sentimental songs even more!

    Yes, it kind of lacking some ‘umph’. Should I say there’s no big ‘plot’ inside instead its a combination of small small plots?

    Wow, mind to share which book you like? Then I must read them. Their product must be excellent to be able to capture your heart. 😛

    Yes, they left the most difficult part to me- the writing part. I was rather pissed off at them actually. I want to make it simple and direct English as in Five People You Meet In Heaven. Flowery o not, I believe most of the staff, when the newsletter is in hand, all they read is the first 2 lines and next they just look at the photos.

  • 7. le chat  |  March 4, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Don’t put too much hope in me, Cain 🙂 The more you hope, the more disappointed you may become?

    However, I think you can put as much hope as you can on Karen Blixen (Isak Dinesen). I started searching for her works since I discovered that one of my favourite Chinese writers likes her very much. Kind of “love me, love my *cat*” character.

    The problem is, it’s not easy to get her books in local bookstore. My penpal sent one to me years ago, Winter’s Tales, with many short stories, no big plot, but it sill stole my heart. And I watched Out of Africa, a film base on a memoir by Isak Dinese, speechless… And it received Oscar Best Picture Award in year 1985.

    If you read translated literary writings, Haruki Murakami is my all time favourite. My first Murakami’s novel is After Dark, well, I read it from after dark until dawn, reluctant to put it down before I finish it!

    Do you incharge of the captions in the newsletter as well? Show your “true colour” in the captions then! Haha…

  • 8. rhealk  |  March 4, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Haha, I have confident in you. Thanks for the list. I’ll check them out. 😛
    Yes, looking for books is never an easy task! Pray that I can get it somewhere nearby! Hohohoh…
    Out of Africa? Hmm… this old movie will be a bit tricky to find. Let’s give it a try!
    Wah lau eh, After Dark… read from after dark till dawn… you… now I’m speechless…. Haha!

    The newsletter, that’s the sad part of it. We had an evil step mother inside office who always wan to interfere/ make things her way. Hope she won’t interfere too much in this newsletter. SIGH !!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
Trace

My Lovely Garden

  • 36,816 Roses

